03. Criminal Law
Dinorah Diaz handles criminal law cases for clients in the San Antonio area
Should you or a friend or family member require a skilled criminal lawyer for defense, contact Dinorah Diaz. Her experience includes handling cases for clients charged with misdemeanors, DWI and felonies, including charges of possession of drugs such as marijuana, cocaine or heroin. She can write bonds to release clients from jail and may be able to apply the cost toward their legal fees. She is also licensed to handle federal criminal defense cases.
Understanding drug possession laws
If you’re arrested for possession of drugs in Texas, the prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that you knowingly and intentionally possessed or had control over a controlled drug without having a valid prescription from a doctor for medical indications.
Texas has tough penalties for drug possession, so an experienced criminal attorney like Dinorah Diaz can help defend you in court. Possession of marijuana may be classified as a “Class B” misdemeanor, with a sentence of up to 180 days in jail and/or a fine of no more than $10,000 for possession of two ounces or less. The penalty could be as harsh as life in prison and a fine of up to $50,000 for possession of more 2,000 pounds of marijuana.
The penalty for possession of other classes of drugs is at the very least a “Class B” misdemeanor, or a “Class A” misdemeanor, which has a penalty of up to one year in county jail and/or a fine of no more than $4,000, depending on the type of drug you are charged with having in your possession. Depending on the amount of drug your possession, the penalty can range from a third degree felony to a first degree felony. The most stringent penalty given in Texas for drug possession is life or 99 years in prison and/or a fine of up to $250,000.
Penalties for DWI in Texas
If you’re charged with driving while intoxicated (DWI), the sentence you face will depend on many factors, including prior convictions.
First DWI: between 3 and 180 days jail, up to a $2,000 fine, up to a two year license suspension and up to a $2,000 yearly fee to keep your license for a three-year period
Second DWI: between 30 days and 1 year jail, up to a $4,000 fine, up to a two year license suspension and up to a $2000 yearly fee to keep your license for a three-year period
A third DWI within ten years is a felony in Texas, and includes at least a two-year prison sentence. You will also face up to a $10,000 fine, up to a two year license suspension and up to a $2000 yearly fee to keep your license for a three-year period